Sunday, January 12, 2014


Hinduism Image
If one looks the Universe and its workings it would be evident that everything in the Universe takes place in a rhythmic  pattern.
 Stars are formed, decay, Die and are regenerated.
Plants , animals and Man are born grow, decay and die.
Seasons come and go.
Everything in the world takes something from the Universe and gives it back.
Plants give out Oxygen and we need Oxygen ‘we give out carbon and Plants need them
Despite our mishandling of the Universe, the Universe takes back what we have taken from it, including our Life and Body.
The Laws of Universe do not expect anything.
Gravitation,Light,Heat and the other elements do not care whether we understand them or not.
They just go about their jobs..
In the Vedas performance of an action because it ought to be performed is called Yagna.
The Purusha Suktam describes the evolution of the Universe at two levels. describing the process at two levels.
One by performing a Yagna and another as Yaga where a specific result is required.

The Purusha ukta describe the process of manifestation as Indian Philosophy does not use the term Creation, but only manifestation.
Creation involves bringing forth some thing new which has not been in Existence before.
As everything is Eternal there is no question of Creating something.
Contrary to what many belive the Pursh Sukta is not about Vishnu or Narayana.
Separate Suktam on these Deities appeat later as Narayan Suktam and Sri Vishnu Suktam.
While Narayana is an Amsa of Purusha, Visnu is an Amsa of Narayana.
As Lakshmi and Durga are.
Therefore to complete the Chanting one has to recite all the Five Suktas .
This is the actual Panchamrutha. not the dish we prepare and offer to God as an item to bathe Him with.
When some one says in the Pooja, whether in the Temples or Homes, Panchamrutha Snanam Samarppayami, the Five Suktas are to be chanted.
The Vedas have Four Parts,
Samhitas, which contain Prayers to Gods,
Brahmanas about the Oblations/Yagnas,
Aranyakas, the efforts to realize Reality from the forest, and
The Upanishads, where Reality is described.
The Purusha Sukta is unique in that it contains all the four parts in one Sukta,
Purusha Sukta appears in the Rig Veda 10.90 verses.
सहस्रशीर्षा पुरुषः सहस्राक्षः सहस्रपात् ।
स भूमिं विश्वतो वृत्वात्यतिष्ठद्दशाङुलम् ॥१॥
Sahasra-Shiirssaa Purussah Sahasra-Akssah Sahasra-Paat |
Sa Bhuumim Vishvato Vrtva-Atya[i]-Tisstthad-Dasha-Angulam ||1||
1.1: The Purusha (The Universal Being) has Thousand Heads, Thousand Eyes and Thousand Feet (Thousand signifies innumerable which points to the omnipresence of the Universal Being),
1.2: He envelops the World from all sides (i.e. He pervades each part of the Creation), and extends beyond in the TenDirections ( represented by Ten Fingers ).
Sahsra Seersha-has over 1000 heads-In Sanskrit , innumerable is often called as ‘Sahasra’ or Thousand.
Aksha-has 100 eyes(Aksha-eyes)
Sahasrabath-has over 1000 feet.
Bommim-The Earth,
Vruthvaa-Spread and immanent,
Dasa Angulam-Stands at 10 Inches.
Athyathishtath-Stands, remains.
Angulam means ‘by a measurement of two fingers’
“The fact that the unit of angulam of 1.763 cm could match very well the dimensions of historical monuments establishes the continuity of India’s engineering tradition through the ages for as long as 3,900 years’
In Hindu Theology the personal God Iswara who resides in the heart measures one inch .
In Hinduism, the Psychological heart is said to be on the Right side of the Chest as against the left side for the Physical heart.
In this verse, the external manifestation of the Universal Principle , as can be grasped by the Human mind, is expressed,just as camera film records the size, not in real-time.

No comments:

Post a Comment